Does anyone else think firmware updates are totally boss? The Zoom H4n update.

No matter how many tech issues I encounter everyday – I sometimes remember how much I love this high-tech world we live in and today firmware updates caused that remembrance.  For those of you who don’t know, firmware updates allow you to update your tech gadgets with software.  So instead of rushing out to the store to buy the latest model, with the newest features you can sometimes sit back in the privacy of your own home, download a small file, transfer it to your gradget and voila have bug fixes and new features without spending a dime.   I was amazed when I applied a new firmware update to my beloved zoom H4n and presto-change-o I had an important new feature.  The zoom recorder is a hand-held audio recorder that features 4-tracks of simultaneous tracking.

Awesome new firmware update for the Zoom H4N

Since the built in microphones on video DSLR cameras are pretty terrible this recorder is very popular with Canon 7D or Canon 5d  Mark II users like myslef.  I always thought the H4n was a little quirky because it would not let you set the levels for input 1 and 2 separately.  I’m sure you could imagine why this would be not optimal.  I downloaded and installed the latest firmware and I was instantly able to set the levels of input 1 and 2 individually.  It was like getting a new toy for Christmas (a much more useful toy)

My advice to you is to check out the websites of your favorite manufacturers to stay current with all of your tech tools.

About Adam Harley

Veteran media content producer Adam Harley is always thrilled to be making compelling videos and great music for and with his amazing clients.
This entry was posted in Gear. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

